top of page

UACD Conservation Districts

Conservation Districts

A conservation district is a legal subdivision of the state of Utah governed by a board of five supervisors elected at large from within the district. Its boundaries are based on watershed or county lines.

The conservation movement grew out of the "Dust Bowl" days in the early 1930s, when soil erosion created an unprecedented ecological disaster. President Franklin D. Roosevelt recommended that all states pass legislation allowing the creation of conservation districts. Utah passed the state's Soil Conservation District Law in March 1937.

Today Utah has 38 conservation districts, divided into seven zones. Each district board holds regular, open meetings to direct the district's business. 

A conservation district supervisor is responsible for local soil and water conservation programs, just as elected county officials are responsible for county services or school district boards are responsible for education.


bottom of page